All press releases

Frankfurter Music Prize goes to the Bundesjazzorchester (BuJazzO)

Mar 20, 2018

Draw for admission tickets for the presentation ceremony in the ‘Paulskirche’ within the framework of the Musikmesse Festival

The Bundesjazzorchester (German Jazz Orchestra – BuJazzO) is to be honoured with the Frankfurt Music Prize 2018. The award is given annually within the framework of the Musikmesse fair and the Musikmesse Festival to personalities whose activities have made an important contribution to music and culture. During the presentation ceremony on 13 April, the orchestra will offer a live insight into its multi-faceted repertoire in nonet formation under Professor Niels Klein. The laudatory speech will be given by Germany’s star trumpeter, Till Brönner, who played with the Bundesjazzorchester from 1988 to 1991.

The Board of Trustees of the Frankfurt Music Prize Foundation praised the Bundesjazzorchester as a valuable bridge between musical training and career, and as an important driving force for successful jazz music in the future. It also emphasised the significance of the orchestra’s work and its musical competence for the self-esteem, seriousness, professionalism and acceptance of jazz in Germany. Moreover, as a cultural ambassador, the Bundesjazzorchester has formed many links of friendship and frequently presented a new aural visiting card of ‘Jazz made in Germany’ on its numerous concert tours.

With Frankfurt’s Paulskirche (St. Paul’s Church) as the venue for this year’s presentation ceremony, the choice has once again fallen on a historical building, in this case one where other important awards, including the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade and the Goethe Prize of the City of Frankfurt, are also presented. A limited contingent of admission tickets is available within the framework of the Musikmesse Festival for the presentation ceremony. These tickets will not be sold but given free of charge in a draw.

The Bundesjazzorchester (BuJazzO)

Founded in 1988 by German band leader Peter Herbolzheimer as a training orchestra for outstanding talents, the Bundesjazzorchester has had a significant impact on the jazz scene in Germany. Often called the ‘BuJazzO’, the orchestra brings together the best jazz musicians of a generation and, in addition to Till Brönner, the approximately 900 musicians that have graduated from it to date include renowned names such as Frank Chastenier, Roger Cicero, Tom Gaebel, Pablo Held, Julia Hülsmann, Frederik Köster, Robert Landfermann, Steffen Schorn, Matthias Schriefl, Sebastian Sternal, Florian Weber, Peter Weniger, Nils Wogram, Michael Wollny and Nils Wülker.

The Bundesjazzorchester is a project of the German Music Council (Deutscher Musikrat). Over the years since its founding, it has recorded 14 albums and received numerous important awards. Since 2011, the orchestra has had a dual artistic leadership: big-band and trombone legend Professor Jiggs Whigham and composer, arranger and saxophonist Professor Niels Klein. The Bundesjazzorchester is made up of young musicians aged between 17 and 24, most of whom study at German and international conservatoires. Their programme has always comprised works by major composers and arrangers from the history of jazz, as well as young, up-and-coming talents.

The Bundesjazzorchester is sponsored by the German Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth (BMFSFJ), the Collecting Society for Neighbouring Rights (GVL), Daimler AG and the Westdeutscher Rundfunk broadcasting station.

Frankfurt Music Prize

The Frankfurt Music Prize has been awarded to personalities from the world of music for special achievements in the fields of interpretation, composition, musicology, teaching and services to music making since 1982.

Sponsored by the Federal Association of German Musical Instrument Manu­facturers (Bundesverband der Deutschen Musikinstrumenten-Hersteller e. V. - BDMH) and Messe Frankfurt, the Frankfurt Music Prize is worth € 15,000. The previous winners include Udo Lindenberg, Peter Gabriel, Keith Emerson and Marie-Luise Neunecker. Last year, the Frankfurt Music Prize went to internationally successful violinist David Garrett.

The members of the Board of Trustees of the Frankfurt Music Prize Foundation of the international Musikmesse in Frankfurt are:

  • The Mayor of the City of Frankfurt am Main
  • The Chairperson of the Federal Association of German Musical Instrument Manufacturers (Bundesverband der Deutschen Musikinstrumenten-Hersteller e.V. - BDMH)
  • A member of the Executive Board of Messe Frankfurt GmbH
  • Two representatives of the German Music Council (Deutscher Musikrat) and
  • Two representatives from German conservatoires

Further information about the draw can be found at

Background information on Messe Frankfurt

Messe Frankfurt is the world’s largest trade fair, congress and event organiser with its own exhibition grounds. With over 2,500 employees at some 30 locations, the company generates annual sales of around €661* million. Thanks to its far-reaching ties with the relevant sectors and to its international sales network, the Group looks after the business interests of its customers effectively. A comprehensive range of services – both onsite and online – ensures that customers worldwide enjoy consistently high quality and flexibility when planning, organising and running their events. The wide range of services includes renting exhibition grounds, trade fair construction and marketing, personnel and food services.
With its headquarters in Frankfurt am Main, the company is owned by the City of Frankfurt (60 percent) and the State of Hesse (40 percent). * preliminary figures for 2017

For more information, please visit our website at:  |  |

Messe Frankfurt uses cookies to provide you the best possible browsing experience. By using our services, you consent to our use of cookies. More information