Frankfurt Music Prize

Frankfurt Music Prize 2019 goes to Quatuor Ébène

Das französische Streichquartett Quatuor Ébène

The Frankfurt Music Prize 2019 goes to the French Quatuor Ébène string quartet. The Frankfurt Music Prize is given annually within the framework of the Musikmesse and honours personalities who have made a special contribution to the international music scene and culture.

The Trustees of the Frankfurt Music Prize acclaim Quatuor Ébène as an outstanding ensemble whose electrifying playing is characterised by passion, complete fidelity to the original works and a simultaneous delight in improvisation. Through their seemingly effortless crossover into the world of jazz, the musicians have succeeded in increasing public awareness of the string quartet as the elite of chamber music, as well as attracting more people, especially younger people, to the concert halls. Moreover, the members of Quatuor Ébène – Pierre Colombet, Gabriel Le Magadure, Marie Chilemme and Raphaël Merlin – also pass on their outstanding skills and expertise to the coming generation of musicians in master classes

The Quatuor Ébène string quartet was founded in 1999 at the Boulogne-Billancourt Conservatory in France. The group first came to international attention in 2004 after winning first prize in the string quartet category at the ARD International Music Competition. Subsequently, the ensemble went on to become firmly established on the musical landscape with a reputation for versatility and a repertoire ranging from classic works to interpretations of well-known film soundtracks and pop songs. Over the intervening years, Quatuor Ébène has won numerous international prizes, including the BBC Music Magazine Award, the Gramophone Award, the Midem Classic Award and various ECHO Klassik awards.

The presentation ceremony of the Frankfurt Music Prize will be held in St. Paul’s Church, Frankfurt, on 5 April 2019, 7:00 pm.

The Frankfurt Music Prize has been awarded since 1982 to personalities from the world of music for special achievements in the fields of interpretation, composition, musicology, teaching and services to music making and has been presented annually on the occasion of the Frankfurt Musikmesse since 1982. The donors are the Federal Association of German Musical Instrument Manufacturers (Bundesverband der Deutschen Musikinstrumenten-Hersteller e. V. - BDMH) and Messe Frankfurt GmbH. The Award is given annually in rotation to personalities the fields of classical and popular music.   

Messe Frankfurt uses cookies to provide you the best possible browsing experience. By using our services, you consent to our use of cookies. More information