Fast accesses

7 – 10.4.2016, Frankfurt am Main

Frankfurt Music Prize 2015

Peter Sadlo to receive Frankfurt Music Prize

Frankfurt Music Prize 2015 Peter Sadlo

Peter Sadlo

This year’s Frankfurt Music Prize goes to Peter Sadlo.

Peter Sadlo is considered to be one of the world’s foremost solo percussionists and has also played with many renowned orchestras. Parallel to his work as a musician, Sadlo has made a name for himself as a music teacher and artistic advisor. He has inspired numerous composers to create works specifically for percussion and thus made an important contribution to its acceptance as a solo instrument.  

The highly regarded international award will be presented for the 33 time during Musikmesse 2015  in the ‘Kaisersaal’ of Frankfurt Römer on 17 April 2015..  

The Board of Trustees described Sadlo as a musical all-rounder who, through his creative work and international renown, has become an ambassador of cultural variety. Thus, he fulfils in an outstanding way the prerequisites for the Frankfurt Music Prize, as stipulated in the statutes for, “extraordinary achievements in his specialist field and the significance of his work for the national and international world of music.”

Frankfurt Music Prize

The Frankfurt Music Prize has been awarded to personalities from the world of music for special achievements in the fields of interpretation, composition, musicology, teaching and services to music making and has been presented annually on the occasion of the Frankfurt Musikmesse since 1982. The donors are the Federal Association of German Musical Instrument Manu­facturers (Bundes­verband der Deutschen Musikinstrumenten-Hersteller e. V. - BDMH) and Messe Frankfurt GmbH. The Award is given annually in rotation to personalities the fields of classical and popular music. The winners honoured in Frankfurt in recent years include musicians such as Udo Lindenberg, Peter Gabriel, Keith Emerson, Anne Sofie von Otter, Marie-Luise Neunecker and, most recently, Ernie Watts.